Wednesday, 2 May 2012

The Cell Cycle - Research

The cell cycle consists of two phases ‘The Mitotic Phase’ also known as (M) which is the Mitosis and the ‘Interphases’ which is where a cell starts its growth of a chromosome and then starts the cell division. The Interphase consists of stages through the cycle which are;

            G1:       The growth of a Cell

            S:         Synthesis of duplication of DNA

            G2:       Cell prepares for Mitosis

            M:        Mitosis, the cell divided

            R:         (Checkpoint for each cell at each stage above).

A cell has to make it through each of these stages to be able to successfully divide and then start the process again as one cell goes off and the other starts it all over again.

When a cell reaches the stage of ‘Mitosis’ the cell must then undergo the four stages of ‘Mitosis’ which are;
Prophase:        The nucleus starts to condense and begins to become visible to light as chromosomes and the opposite ends of the cells fibres extend from the centromeres.
Metaphase:     The Spindle fibres align the chromosomes along the middle of the cell nucleus, when the chromosomes are the separated each new nucleus will receive one chromosome.
Anaphase:       Chromosomes start to divide by the Chromatids as they start to separate by the spindle fibres.
Telophase:       Chromosomes both move to either side of the cell and both start to create new nucleus to wrap around the divided chromosomes.
Cytokinesis:     Overlaps the latter stages of mitosis and when divided creates two identical cells. (Animal cells).


1 comment:

  1. good job! this really helped me finish my project.